Home VFW Post 12024 VFW Auxiliary 12024 VFW History Membership Mobile Applications News & Information Programs Texas Veterans Information The Wars The Woodlands, Texas



The Woodlands VFW Post 12024 is the youngest Post in Texas District 17. It was started in 2004 by a few men and women that wanted to make a difference in the Volunteering Community within the VFW. The Auxiliary 12024 followed a year later.

The Post was small in the number of members, but that didn't hinder them from having great success.  Within the first six years of existence, the Post achieved All-American Status twice with Post Commander Norm Brawner and Post Commander Lee Derby leading the way.

The Woodlands VFW Post has achieved All-State Post 6 consecutive years and being well represented at the District level as Norm Brawner and Lee Derby both served as District 17 Commander.  Carl Smith led the Post to All-State for the 2011/2012 year.  Judy Brawner of the Auxiliary served as District 17 President and led the Auxiliary 12024 as President for 5 years.

In 2009, The Woodlands VFW Post became the first Post in Texas to sponsor a VFW Motorcycle Group. These same members that started this Post, made Texas history and started this new group within the Post, again having much success within the VFW. In this same year, this small Post and Auxiliary received the National Community Service Award for their work in the community and with the local homeless Veterans organizations.

The dedication of each member in this Post and Auxiliary continues to echo the strengths of the history of the Post.

VFW Post Charter: July 22, 2004           Auxiliary Charter: October 16, 2005


*     2004-2005 Norm Brawner
* #   2005-2006 Norm Brawner
*     2006-2007 Norm Brawner
* #   2007-2008 Lee Derby
*     2008-2009 Lee Derby
*   ! 2009-2010 Lee Derby
      2010-2011 Robert Fuller
*     2011-2012 Carl Smith
      2012-2013 Carl Smith

* designates All-State / # designates All-American / ! designates National Community Service Award Winner


2005-2006 Judy Brawner
2006-2007 Judy Brawner
2007-2008 Judy Brawner
2008-2009 Judy Brawner
2009-2010 Judy Brawner
2010-2011 Paula Ison
2011-2012 Paula Ison
2012-2013 Paula Ison

Copyright 2013 VFW POST 12024, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED